Issuing payment pointers

Hi, I am new to Web Monetization but I believe it’s the future.

However, the barrier to entry for some, especially content creators in Africa, is super high.

I have a use case specifically targetted to African youth and youth in developing countries.

Specifically, I want to be able to allow them to generate payment pointers which will they will use to get paid for content they create.

I have looked at many docs and it appears Coil owns the space and the barrier to entry for newcomers or random Devs like me is very high.

I want to be able to:

• Have them do KYC and all in their local accepted means :white_check_mark:
  • Have XRP wallets for users on my platform :white_check_mark:
  • Give them the option to generate a payment pointer linked to their account :warning:
  • Enable them to withdraw/transfer XRP to/from their local currency :white_check_mark:

I have some experience with Blockchain and stuff and should be able to understand resources and technical stuff if there are links or guides you can refer me to, please.

2 Likes

You might benefit from looking at https://gatehub.net/ for an XRP wallet solution and talking to https://uphold.com for the KYC piece. Uphold seems to also facilitate trading to some local currencies (don’t think they do African currencies).

The Coil Wordpress plugin offers a field for adding payment pointers for individual users. Maybe you could build your site on Wordpress and use a plug in like WP User Frontend to allow content creators to create accounts and upload their own content, and build a way for it to generate payment pointers for them.

I’m really curious about what you have in mind. I’m also recruiting content creators for my project which has the goal to increase the freedom of artists worldwide to pursue their creative vision. We’d be happy to look at featuring your project on our site.

1 Like

Thanks for sharing this @sal.