Web Monetization details

I might have missed it but I’m missing some details on how it works. I’m a developer (also web developer) and I’ve read through a few of the posts here and talk to people about sites weekly and here’s all the questions that came to mind as I read:

Visitor Questions

• If I’m a visitor I pay an escrow service $5 a month (Coil?) or do I deposit a lump sum?
  • When I browse the web while I visit a site (that has monetization enabled) a small deposit is made?
  • Do I have to enable monetization on each site I visit or is it enabled by default?
  • The cable providers have gutted or are trying to gut net neutrality. Are the sites I visit or tip going to be stored or sold like many sites that sell a persons private data now?
  • How much is donated per hour or minute?
  • If I leave the browser window open (does it keep adding up)?
  • Is there a max donation per site I can set?
  • Can I accidentally go over my budget and owe?
  • Is it opt in per site?
  • Can a site block me if I don’t choose to monetize or only allow me entrance if I enable it?
  • Can I donate to a user on that site (say a content creator) and not the site itself?
  • Can I donate anonymously?

Developer Questions
As a site or individual to monetize I have to create an account at Coil and place the embed code (meta tag) on my page and then when web monetization is supported I’ll start receiving (micro)payments from my visitors?

• Can someone tip me more than the hourly rate?
  • Can someone pay for one of my products through it?
  • If I’m a social media like site can someone pay one of my users through it (forum moderator)?
  • Can I change the requested rate for certain content? The user will get a prompt?